Well.  It’s time for something different.  People look at me a little strangely when I say I “do” the Emmett Technique.  And I have to say it’s a tricky technique to explain without demonstrating how it works.  I’ll try a brief explanation here, let’s see how I go.

“The Emmett Technique uses switches and holding points to effect immediate releases in surrounding muscle tissue” (a direct quote from the Emmett website, http://www.rossemmett.com.au/).  To me that doesn’t cover it … not even close.  I’d take it further to say something like there can be an immediate improvement in the range of motion and a decrease in the pain in the area (not every time of course, but 99% of the time).   Here’s a few ways I might apply it:

Someone comes in for their regular lymphatic treatment, you ask the general, “how’s your body feeling today?”, response, “oh, the arm’s pretty good, but my neck has been hurting for about a week, every time I turn”.  So I sit the person down, fully clothed and apply three or four Emmett moves (about 5-10 minutes worth of treatment time) and their pain decreases and they can get on the table and settle fully into the lymphatic treatment without focusing on the pain in their neck.

Or I mention it to a client and they’re not so sure, so at the end of the treatment I get them up and dressed again and throw in five minutes worth of Emmett.  Pretty much guaranteed they ask for some at the next session.

I also use it when I do voluntary work at fundraisers/charity events.  See picture below, taken at a Breast Cancer Girls Night In last year.

emmett

I have to share the most miraculous change I’ve experienced using the Emmett Technique.  My memory is a bit sketchy on details now, but you’ll get the gist.

I went for a walk with a friend in Manly and we saw a friend of hers, started chatting and 15 minutes later we were sitting on a bench having a coffee and long story short, there I was, on the ground working on his calves and feet.  His second toe had moved out of position and was jammed up against his third toe, painful and uncomfortable.  He’d been to see doctors and even a surgeon who had suggested pinning the toe during surgery but he had decided against doing anything.  So, there we sat, with me having to remind him to relax (do you know how hard it is to relax when you’re told to do so?).  He swore he was, but his leg was sticking out for me to work on, a dead giveaway.  Finally he decided to sit back, fold his arms and close his eyes and chill out.  As I was holding points on either side of his forefoot I watched his second toe move, and not just a little move, I mean really move.  So fast it took me by surprise and in fact, in overcorrected and ended up jammed up to his big toe!  I have to admit I did give a little shriek.  It was the most amazing movement I’ve ever seen.  Well, after walking up and down for a little the discomfort he had been feeling was much less, but the toe hadn’t come to centre.  He did come for a couple sessions in the clinic and while we were able to help the pain, no matter what I did I couldn’t get his toe in the exact right place but it wasn’t all that bad.  I suspect that the changes we made in the clinic were undone by his workboots, which were probably rubbing one of the points we use to bring release so unfortunately it’s one of those out of my control issues.

One of the things Ross Emmett likes to point out again and again is that our clothes/shoes can create some of our problems by restricting full movement or stimulating points constantly, putting muscles into overwork.  Read more about Ross and the treatment at http://www.rossemmett.com.au/.  They run one day EmmTech courses for the lay person and I’d really recommend attending one, your friends and family will love you for it.

