I usually write about my clients or things I’ve been learning but today I’m going to be a bit more personal.  I guess I’m still writing about things I’m learning but this time it’s about personal development rather than updating skills.

Those that know me, both on a personal and professional level, know that I am quite conservative generally – let’s put it this way … you’ll never find me in a line waiting to bungee jump.  I’m not a risk taker. 

Taking a month off recently to requalify was way out of my comfort zone on many levels, not just the learning aspect but also the simple logistics of travelling across the city to an area I was totally unfamiliar with.  Luckily one of my lovely clients attended the first two weeks of the course and she held my hand (well, almost), bless her cotton socks.  I would have managed but my stress levels were totally minimised because of her company and laughter.

So, having survived that I’ve decided to push the boat out a bit more and start doing some things that are out of character for me.  Small steps. 

The first thing I did was to buy myself a bikini for the first time in years.  And I’ve been to the beach, on my own, twice.  I’m not going to assault you with a photo of me in a bikini, but I can show you where I wore it last week – it was the most perfect day and my local beach was stunning …

ImageThe second thing I did was WAAAYYYYY out of my zone.  I am going grey naturally.  What can I say?  I’m just a little too impatient to sit in a hairdresser’s chair for hours at a time having my colour done and in fact, I probably only visit a hairdresser twice a year for a trim.  The lucky thing is that I tend to wear my hair up for work so it’s easy to be lazy with the upkeep.  I decided that if I were to ever put colour in my hair, well, I was going to really put colour in my hair … within reason of course, can’t get too far out of that box.

So.  Last week I took myself off to the hairdresser and sat in the chair for an hour and a half (how do people do that regularly??) and emerged with some pink highlights!  They are just underneath so that I don’t have to worry about regrowth.  I figured that October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month so I’m going pink to show my support.

ImageImage

Then yesterday I went to the Embrace Life Live Life event at my local RSL – http://embracelifelivelife.com.au/.  Those who know me know that this is NOT out of my comfort zone – natural therapies, crystals, healing, right in the zone for me.  But I did buy myself something I’ve been wanting for quite a while, it’s not exactly what I wanted but it sang out to me regardless …

ImageTibetan singing bowl, photo courtesy google images

It’s time to start manifesting more fun in my life.  What’s next?

